Celebrating Adiki Ofeibea Ayitevie, my mentor extraordinare

Bravery, Resilience, and Grit


She is all this and more personified


Adiki is one person I can write an entire epistle about

From meeting her as a young journalist to working closely with her later in Corporate Communications at Newmont, I have grown to admire and love this woman for all she stands for.

When I transitioned from journalism to corporate communications, she once remarked ‘’See where your resilience and passion has brought you? I have no doubt you will do well. She was right.

I remember one time at Newmont, during my National Service Days we had a department meeting and as an NSP, I just sat back to observe the proceedings of the meeting when suddenly I heard ‘’So Lorrencia what do you think ’’?

‘’Who me’’? I asked, just be sure

Adiki responded, of course, what do you think about this topic, share your thoughts…

I shared my views and received resounding applause. I was stunned. But that moment for me was really defining. It was one I will never forget because it taught me that my voice also matters, and I always have an opportunity to be part of the bigger picture. What’s more? It helped me realize how much of a big deal I was because someone believed in me.

As the years rolled by, Adiki and I built a bond of friendship, and today she’s family.

As my mentor, Adiki has had a positive influence in my life and career growth over the last decade, and I can not count my successes without appreciating her role in my life.

I’ve learnt a lot from her, I’d share a few;

1. Have a vision for your life-What do you want to be known for?
2. Never stop learning-Read, go back to school, take a course, ask questions, that’s how to grow
3. Resilience and adaptability – Struggles and challenges are part of life, but when they happen, do not let it weigh you down. Get up, dust yourself, and get moving.
4. Meaningful Impact & Leadership – Use your gifts and talents to nurture others and help raise the next generation of leaders.
5. Self-care- Adiki believes that every woman needs to be deliberate about their self-care. It starts with diet, exercise, and wellness.
Though a personal choice, it is vital.

Adiki, you are a trailblazer indeed, a true Go-Getter, the woman who can

Thank you for believing in me even even when I’ve had doubts

Thank you for the tough love
Thank you for being an inspiration
Thank you for the positive impact you’ve had in my life

You’re a truly phenomenal woman, and it’s an honour to know you

Happy Birthday, Adiki Ayitevie APR
God bless you

One of my favourite pictures of us
This too🤍

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑